Artificial Intelligence?

applechatHad a productive ‘chat’ with Apple Support today. But tell me this: Does “Keidra” sound like a computer that’s been programmed to sound human, or a human that’s been trained to sound like a computer?

Here’s the transcript…

Keidra:

Thanks for contacting iOS. My name is Keidra. How can I help you?

Trevor:

Hi there.

Just wanted to check if my iPhone 6S is one affected by the battery replacement programme. 

Keidra:

Just to make sure we’re on the same page you would like to know if your iPhone 6s is eligible for the battery replacement program, correct?

Trevor:

Exactly that. The serial number is: XXXXXXX (Redacted for security)

Keidra:

I know if my iPhone was on a recall list I would be checking into this also. I’ll do all I can to resolve this for you today.

Keidra:

I would like to confirm the version of iOS on the device. Go to Settings > General > About and tell me what it shows for Version. I want to make sure your account is up to date.

Trevor:

10.2 (14C5077b)

Keidra:

Thank you! I’m showing that your iPhone maybe eligible for battery replacement. Would like to know your service options?

Trevor:

Please. 

Keidra:

Sure thing! May I know what country are you located in?

Trevor:

England. 

Keidra:

You’re service options are take the device to an Apple Authorized Service Provider or schedule an appointment with an Apple Retail Store. The battery cannot be replaced until after December 5, 2016.

Trevor:

There’s an Authorised Service provider in a nearby town – closer than any Apple Store, so I’ll give them a call. Thanks for mentioning the date – didn’t know it hadn’t started yet. 

Keidra:

You’re more than welcome! Is it OK if I send you an email with some articles on what to do before you take your iPhone in for repair?

Trevor:

Think I’ve found all that online already. Back up, disable Find my iPhone. 

But do feel free in case I’ve missed anything. ;o)

Keidra:

Great! Overall, how do you feel about our chat today, have I addressed all of your concerns? Are you satisfied with the support I provided today? I want to make sure I’ve answered all of your questions before we finish up!

Trevor:

I had one question, and it’s been answered perfectly. So very satisfied. 

Keidra:

Perfect! You enjoy the rest of your day and your Family Sharing! Again my name is Keidra. If you ever need help, AppleCare chat is here 24/7. Feel free to chat us anytime. You can also use Twitter as a way to contact us! Tweet @AppleSupport for help answering your questions.

Trevor:

Thanks!

Keidra:

Not a problem, Trevor! If you have no other questions or concerns please feel free to click the “End Chat” button or simply close the internet browser window. If you prefer you can also say “OK” to confirm it is fine for me to end this chat session. Have a wonderful rest of your day.

 

What do *you* think?

