A pile of books

Next to my bed* sits a pile of books. Books I’m reading, or plan to read. Once in a blue moon I tell you about them. This is the current pile.

IMG_7055.jpg
(*Not actually by my bed just now as the bedroom is emptied for redecoration.) 

The Cloud of Unknowing. Anonymous. 

Recommended by a good friend who thought it might go down well with me in my alleged spiritual life. Written by an unknown Christian Mystic in around the late 14th century, it is, apparently, something of a classic text. Interestingly, another good friend who seeks to help and guide me with spiritual stuff suggested I should flush it straight down the toilet. I’ve barely dipped into it so far, despite having had it for a couple of months now. (Sorry, Andrew. I’ll get it back to you some time. Once I’ve read it.)

Bounce: The myth of talent and the power of practice. Matthew Syed.

A Christmas present from my wife’s mum. About half way through this one. Fascinating insights into the nature of success and how it’s all down to practice rather than innate talent.

How to be a woman. Caitlin Moran. 

A birthday present from my oldest brother. Not started it yet. In his card he said “this may seem an odd choice of book” but I was able to reply “It’s a perfect choice of book; I’ve been wanting to read it for ages. I’ve enjoyed the few random columns of Caitlin Moran’s that I’ve read. I thought her “posthumous advice to my daughter” was great.

The Rosie Effect. Graeme Simsion.

Birthday present from my next-oldest brother. Not started it yet. Don’t know much about this one, but he enjoyed it, so I hope I will too.

Faith and Doubt. John Ortberg. 
Reaching for the invisible god. Philip Yancey. 

Someone at church was having clear-out and gave away a load of books. These two caught my eye. I may read them. One day.

Pyongyang: A journey in North Korea. Guy Delisle. 
(Not in my picture as I’ve lent it out already, but mentioned as I enjoyed it so much.)

A Christmas present from a nephew. Read it in a day. A french animator’s account of his time spent in North Korea working with an animation studio. An incredible insight into the bizarre and oppressive regime, told with elegance and style. The genre really seemed to suit the subject, his drawings sparse and simple in keeping with the surroundings he found himself in. A worthy read, and an introduction to a new genre for me; I’ve never read a graphic novel before. I may read more.

51TIEFh20oL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

****

Housekeeping notice: Astute readers may have spotted a subtle change to this page. Gone is the long-standing title and header “A Work in Progress”. It’s been there since 2007, not meaning very much. “A website called Trevor” has taken its place. Also not meaning very much. 

 

What do *you* think?

