Educating myself: world politics edition

Following a couple of recent conversations (on Facebook and in a pub) I felt the need to try to learn at least a little about what the heck is going on in the world. Certainly to learn more than I could just relying on soundbite quotes and cartoons on social media.

I’ve come across a few well researched articles entitled things like “What ISIS want”, which I may link to later if people are interested, but before I do that this article from September seems to be a pretty thorough, if heavily summarised, history of the islamic world and its divisions. From just this one article, I feel I understand just a little bit more about “the middle east” than I ever have before.

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 23.10.15

It’s a longish read, but the writer has a light, even humorous, touch and manages to make it all pretty engaging. A bit of a ‘horrible histories for adults’, I suppose.

If you feel so inclined, read it with me, and let me know what you think.

http://waitbutwhy.com/2014/09/muhammad-isis-iraqs-full-story.html

 

What do *you* think?

