Phase One 645 DF

Following a tutorial today, I’ve borrowed the Phase One 645 DF camera system from my university loan store, just to see if I should be using it for a particular project rather than my usual camera.

For purely practical reasons, I’m unlikely to use it for the whole project, but I may use it occasionally. It can be a bit fiddly to use, but boy when you get it right the detail is astonishing. Take a look at this:

TC-20150212-006787

 

Now I’m sure most of you know how big a LEGO® Minifigure is. That’s a pretty sharp image that is. But is it any better than I can get with my Canon 650D? Well, no, perhaps not. Or at least, not when you look at this crop. But whilst you may assume this was taken with some sort of macro lens, no. This is the remarkable thing – the photograph above is actually a crop from this one:

TC-20150212-006787-2

 

…and look how much detail is still showing. Zoom in that far on one of the files produced with my camera and it’ll be a lot less sharp than this. In fact, let’s go further in; here’s an even closer crop, again from that very same file.

TC-20150212-006787-3

 

Wow.

Only trouble is, this camera system cost more than my car.

One thought on “Phase One 645 DF

What do *you* think?

