Post-Greenbelt spiritual stuff (whatever that means)

Greenbelt seems to be one of the rare times I feel connected to what I might call my spiritual side. Yes, I’m regularly at church, and have never let go of that whole part of my life, but have described Greenbelt as my Spiritual Home in the past (and them immediately wondered what on earth “Spiritual Home” might mean).

This year I’m taking steps to prolong that Greenbelt vibe somehow. How? By joining a house group. Now, I know some of you reading this will have no idea what a house group is, so in case that’s you, it’s basically a small group who meet up to be church together some time other than sunday. Many churches have such groups in place, and years ago I was always part of one, but it’s been a long, long time since that was the case.

It just happens that one of our house groups is run by a couple who also come to Greenbelt, and this year they mentioned it to me and invited me along… and I’ve jumped in with both feet. Some small groups like these follow bible studies, using notes or following on from whatever was being talked about in church the previous Sunday, but this group pretty much does its own thing, and they’d ordered a bunch of books by Greenbelt speakers with a view to choosing one to read and discuss together. Kind of like a book club.

51F1qyzO+KL

And the book we’ve decided to start with is Brian McLaren’s Naked Spirituality. I’ve never actually caught Brian McLaren speaking, but the little I’ve heard about him suggests I’d like his approach, so I’m looking forward to reading it, and even more to discussing it with like-minded people. Who seem to be, incidentally, lovely.

As we didn’t really have anything to read/study/discuss at that first get-together, we watched this short video from Rob Bell. It’s a bit cheesy, but I liked the central drive about joining in with God’s music. (Disclaimer: I have no idea what ‘God’ means either.)

What do *you* think?

