What is it I *like*, exactly?

Screen Shot 2013-09-16 at 12.37.56

When it comes down to it, what sort of photography do I actually like?

Here’s a wee bit of personal if rather ‘vague’ research. I’ve been a Flickr user for about seven years. Thought I’d have a look through the photos from other people that I’ve marked as “favourites” over the years, to see what sort of themes occur. You can see the whole lot (there’s a few hundred!) by using this link. I’ve just spent a while browsing through them, and here’s what I see…

I see lots of ‘patterns’ and ‘textures’.

I see lots of abstracts and special effects.

I see lots of ‘urban’ street shots and architecture

I see lots of lego!

I see lots of signage and graffiti.

I see lots of ‘detail’ or even ‘macro’ shots.

More recently, I see people and faces.

And here’s what I don’t see

Anything that looks like it’s shot in a studio

Which I think is interesting. What sort of photography do I like? Stuff that reflects real life. 

Looking through it’s often difficult to categorise some photos. I was surprised how many I’d marked as ‘favourite’ that fell broadly into a ‘landscape’ theme, although there’s not all that many that would really be considered ‘classic’ landscape photography. And sometimes I look and think – what is it about this photograph that inspired to me to click that ‘favourite’ button? If there’s one recurring connection between them, I guess it’s a kind of ‘quirkiness’. But that’s not really a definable quality.

For what it’s worth, as I went through the list I paid careful attention to which ones still stood out and caught my eye. I was going to post them all on here, but they’re all copyright so rather than wait around to get permission from everyone I’ve put them in a Flickr gallery. Click the thumbnails to see the whole gallery and what I’ve said about each one…

Screen Shot 2013-09-16 at 12.37.56

Oh, and here’s that link to all my favourites again. In case you missed it further up.

What do *you* think?

