What makes it art?

The golf ball photos I posted earlier are one example of ‘seeing the unseen’. Here’s a very different take on the idea: photos of people looking at things, were we can’t see what they’re looking at. I saw this in the Guardian Magazine one week (on one of the very rare occasions I buy a copy these days) and was intrigued,

(a) because I can see what the photographer is doing; I, too, observe things like this and think “isn’t it funny how many people do such-and-such”, and

(b) because like so many times when I’m at a gallery or exhibition I find myself thinking “what makes this art?”

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 08.28.36
© WassinkLundgren 

You can see more of the work, and indeed read the short article, here.

The photographer, Thijs groot Wassink,works as one of a pair of photographers with Ruben Lundgren. They have quite a range of projects displayed on their website. I enjoyed the photobooth photos, taking a snapshot of whatever’s going on outside the photobooth by simply using a mirror.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 08.57.21
© WassinkLundgren

This project’s interesting, too: working together, they do street photography where they both shoot the same subject at the same time, getting a slightly different perspective.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 08.46.27
© WassinkLundgren

But I can’t deny that the attraction of some of their projects is a mystery to me.

What do *you* think?

