Induction day two. It’s all official.

So, that’s another day done. No, don’t worry, I’m sure I’m not going to write about every damn day of the course but while it’s all new and exciting I just can’t help myself.

The day started with a talk about possible opportunities to study or work abroad in either the second year or in an additional third year; interesting opportunities with partner universities all over the world, but I can’t see myself likely to apply. Not with a family at home to consider. Unless they really need a long break from me after a couple of years of this.

Next, a quick visit to the equipment loan room. Wow. Looks like we can borrow just about anything we need for the course. As long as it’s for an assignment, it’s available: cameras of every shape and size, lighting kits, you name it. A very brief introduction to the printing facilities – industry level photo printing with a suite of fully colour-managed macs just for our use. But no time to explore properly as we had the dreaded University Registration to get done.

Having so very carefully made sure I had fished out all my exam certificates right back to my O levels in 1985, and collated evidence of my student finance, and other things that were requested… none of it was looked at. Passport to check I was who I said I was, confirm a couple of details, quick photo for the ID card, job done. I am now, officially, a full-time student. Which still sounds odd. I have my NUS card, too, so can start getting discounts wherever possible, and having the ID card in my hand meant I was, today, able to buy my season ticket for the UnoBus service which will get me too and from campus every day, and beyond when necessary.

The fun started after lunch. They’d set us a little task – an “Image Hunt”. Instead of giving us a campus tour, they gave us a list of thirty things to go out and find and photograph. Random things scattered all over the campus – and indeed some on the other campus a short bus ride away.

Here’s a few of the shots I took.

“Library”

"Library"

"Library"

“One of the four student bars”

"One of the four uni bars"
(Actually, the task was two of the four, but my other one was rubbish.) 

“An Illegally Parked Car”

"An illegally Parked Car."
Naughty, naughty.

“Admin staff”

"Admin Staff"
We promptly got told off for photographing in here,so…

University Registration

"University Registration"
…we made sure we asked before taking any in here!

“Football Field”

"The Football Field"

“Lecturer”

"Lecturer"
Yes, this is one of my lecturers and therefore yes, I could have just asked her to pose, but I figured everyone would do that and was trying to think at least a little differently. This is her page on the university’s “StudyNet” system.

2 thoughts on “Induction day two. It’s all official.

What do *you* think?

