Tell me about your wedding photography experience

Last week I put out a request on Twitter and Facebook for people to help with a bit of research.

I’ve had a few very useful responses, but would love to hear more so I’m throwing the net a bit wider.

Here’s the background: I recently photographed a friend’s wedding as a favour, after their photographer let them down with a week to spare. I’d not done anything more than ‘hobby’ photography for ages, and not even handled a decent camera for many years, so borrowed one for the day and did the best I could. I blogged a few of the shots here.

The pictures went down well with the family, and a few folk who’ve seen the results have suggested that I ought to consider taking it further, so I’m doing a bit of research to see what people are after these days and what services photographers are offering. Of course I can look at photographers’ websites for myself, and have been doing a bit of research that way, but I want to hear from customers.

With that in mind, I’d love to hear from anyone who used a wedding photographer in recent years. Here are some questions to get you started:

  • How did you choose/find your photographer?
  • What sort of photographs were you after: formal, candid, mixed?
  • Did you have your photographer for just the ceremony, or the reception also?
  • What did you get in the way of prints/albums/books?
  • Were you offered some or all of the photographs in a digital format? And if so, did this cost extra?
  • What, if I may ask, was your budget, and how much did you end up spending?

And if you have any other comments to make about your experience of working with a photographer on your big day I’d be delighted to hear them.

I’ve put a response box at the bottom of this post, and I’ll look forward to getting loads of responses.

Many thanks,

Trevor

What do *you* think?

