Photographic assignment

Rather bizarrely, I’ve agreed to photograph a friend’s wedding on Friday. I’ve never photographed a wedding before.

But their photographer pulled out with short notice and they’s asked if I could step in. Eek. So I have a borrowed DSLR (a Sony A290, in case you’re wondering) and a couple of days to familiarise myself with it. It’s years since I used an SLR.

I took it with me to work this afternoon just so I could catch a few test shots on the way home. Here are a few of them!

Florist on the green
The Florist on the Green, Stevenage. Camera in Auto mode.

High Street, Stevenage
Stevenage High Street. Camera in Aperture Priority mode with a large aperture.

That cliched Macro Shot on a dandelion head. Sorry, couldn't help myself.
Cliched Macro Shot on a dandelion head. Sorry, couldn’t help myself. Camera in Macro Mode. Of course.

And now a few of the same subject to experiment with the settings…

Playing with settings 1
Aperture Priority Mode, Large Aperture, 18mm Focal Length.

Playing with settings 2
Aperture Priority Mode, Large Aperture, 55mm Focal Length.

Playing with settings 4
Aperture Priority Mode, Small aperture, 55mm Focal Length.

Playing with settings 3
Camera’s built in “portrait mode”, which basically replicates the whole “large aperture to
blur the background” thing. Also enhances skin tones, apparently. But not post boxes.

4 thoughts on “Photographic assignment

  1. Leelee

    My tips! Keep your aperature as wide as you can! It’s a wedding, keep it with that dreamy look! Oh and get the traditional shots of course, but the off the cuff ones are always the best 😛

    Reply

What do *you* think?

