Last preparation update before Arch to Arc 2011

Well, folks, the time has come.

It’s tomorrow that I set off as part of this year’s Arch to Arc in favour of James Whale Fund for Kidney Cancer. I am, of course, completely and utterly prepared in every respect. Physically, mentally, etc etc…

Ahem.

Actually, this evening I am feeling pretty nervous about the whole thing. I’m told that’s adrenaline, but to me it feels like lack of preparation. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ve not really trained as much as I ought to have. Too late now; there’s nothing more that can be done.

It’ll be fine, I’m sure. I’m just expecting to get knackered quickly. All I need to remember is to keep my energy levels topped up with lots of drinks and sensible amounts of food and I’ll have no problems.

I hadn’t planned to ride today, as it seemed a bit close to the start tomorrow, but I hadn’t actually been out since last Wednesday and I found I had some time to spare this morning, so I did a shortish one just to check my legs still worked. Thankfully, they did. I’d ridden up to my son’s school this morning (to pester people for some more sponsorship!) and, as you can see from the map, did not take the shortest route home.

Distance: 16.04 miles
Time: 1 hr 7 min
Average moving speed: 15.2mph
Top speed: 36.5 mph

And the rest of the day was spent packing and sorting, checking the bike, double checking the packing (passport?) and saving energy. I’ve had, as recommended by the organisers, a large pasta meal tonight. It’s a stupidly early start in the morning: we leave Marble Arch at 7am to be sure of getting to Dover in time for the ferry. I’m very grateful for the support of a good friend who’s picking me up from home at 5am to get me down there. Thanks.

This may be my last update on here until I return, depending on technology and wifi availability. I’m sure to manage short updates on twitter and maybe occasional photos, too, so the if you want to see where I’m up to the best place to look is probably my twitter feed here.

Thanks to everyone who’s sponsored me so far. If you’ve not gotten* around to it yet, here’s the link.


Pasta with hot smoked trout, toasted pinenuts and watercress. Energy food.

(* I have not turned American. I’ve just always liked the word gotten. As Bill Bryson wrote somewhere: “The distinction between ‘got’ and ‘gotten’ is exactly the same as that between ‘forgot’ and ‘forgotten’.” We brits get that one right, but seem to have forgotten how it works with gotten. Shame.)

What do *you* think?

