Spiritual update

Hey, it’s been a while since there was anything spiritual on here.

Mostly because I feel it’s been a while since there was anything spiritual going on in me.

But things may be moving on. A tiny bit.

A couple of triggers:

I mentioned back in November that my best mate Dave was moving back to Stevenage to take up post as Vicar of St Nicholas Church. He’s here now. In post. (“Installed”, to use to correct term.) And though we’ve not got together to talk spiritual stuff just yet, I feel sure we’re going to. And I’m looking forward to it.

And last week I had my first proper chat in a while with my own minister. Also called Dave, as it happens. It was good. As always I was honest and told him that my faith is not much more than “I’m open to the possibility that there might be something beyond”. He’s happy with that. I’m happy, too.

I mentioned to him that I was planning to read Rob Bell’s Love Wins. Dave recommended I first read his first book, Velvet Elvis. I ordered a copy. It arrived today. Here’s the blurb on the back:

WE HAVE TO TEST EVERYTHING. I THANK GOD FOR ANYBODY ANYWHERE WHO IS POINTING PEOPLE TO THE MYSTERIES OF GOD. BUT THOSE PEOPLE WOULD ALL TELL YOU TO THINK LONG AND HARD ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE SAYING AND DOING AND CREATING.

Test it.
 
Probe it.
 
Do that to this book.
 
Don’t swallow it uncritically. Think about it. Wrestle with it. Just because I’m a Christian and I’m trying to articulate a Christian worldview doesn’t mean I’ve got it nailed. I’m contributing to the discussion. God has spoken, and the rest is commentary, right?
Sounds about right to me.
 
I’ll keep you posted.
 
What do *you* think?

