First training ride. I’ve started.

This time last year I was out regularly doing 15-20 mile rides as part of my training for Arch to Arc, but despite signing up for this year’s ride (sponsor me!) I’d not made it out for any training yet. But today was a beautiful day and I found myself with a couple of hours to spare this morning. So, after fixing my bike up a bit, and finding my cycling clothes, this is where I went:

It was lovely to be back out there. My bike behaved itself (gears are a bit clunky, mind you) and it was so good to have reinstated my SPD pedals. Can’t remember why I took them off, but boy have I missed them; cycling with your shoes not attached to the pedals seems to waste so much energy.

A fairly standard route, much like I started with last year, so nothing much to report except some aching legs and a desire to get out there and do some more. I did see a herd of deer, which was nice.

IMG_0189

I’m looking forward to getting on the bike I’m borrowing from a friend soon.

Dull stats:
Riding time: 1 hr 2 min
Distance: 12.78 miles
Average speed: 12.4 mph
Top speed: 29.4 mph

What do *you* think?

