Photoshop for beginners.

I’ve played about with Photoshop for a few years on and off, and have taught myself a few bits and pieces from books and online tutorials, but when I saw a Photoshop for Beginners course at North Hertfordshire College Centre for the Arts, I figured it might be a good chance to learn how to do a few things properly. I started four weeks ago…

The college has a suite full of spanking brand new macs all with Photoshop CS5 newly installed (I think we were the first class to use them!), so the first week was mostly “How to use a Mac”, which was a bit of a waste of time for me but clearly needed by many on the course. Since then I’ve learned at least a couple of things each week. Okay, so I can’t say I’ve learned much that I couldn’t already do, but there are a few little basics that I’d missed that have made some things easier or more efficient.

This week we finally started to actually do a few little “projects” and the use of various tools and techniques began to come together. Here’s a couple of them:

(You can click on any of these images for a bigger version.)

We created this rather cheesy magazine cover:

From this source image:

As you can see, she needed a bit of touching up here and there, but the main point was sorting out the winking eye and wrinkled nose. She’s got a very weird tongue, but I didn’t try to sort that out. You’ll note I did shorten that slightly sticky-up tooth, though.

And here’s another one. A passer-by has intruded on this cricket scene:

So we took him out:

(Here’s a closer view of the area in question, before and after tinkering)

Now, I could have done either of these before I’ve done this course, but even so I thought I might as well share them on here. Just so you know I’m doing something with my time!

What do *you* think?

