Day three of three. 18 miles. Half of them in pouring rain.

At last I get to write about my third ride of the weekend: The Wet One.


After the previous day’s town-based weave around Stevenage, I fancied country lanes again, so I started out that way, but when I found myself in Hitchin I thought it might try weaving around there instead. And I did, for a short while. But soon I found myself heading out of Hitchin to the north. And that’s where things started to get a bit interesting. I suspected I might be on the A600, but couldn’t be sure. And I couldn’t remember how far up the A600 I’d have to go before I could turn off to the west. As you can see from the map, I was – and it was about three miles. And all the time I was heading north I was staring towards some ominous looking black clouds.

(Imagine photo of “black clouds to the north” here. I wish I’d taken one.)

I felt the first drops of rain shortly before reaching the turning, where I pulled over and slipped on my shower mac. But this was no shower. By the time I reached Holwell I was soaked. And it didn’t stop. The rain just kept on coming – torrential at times – for the rest of the ride. I discovered a few things that day: I discovered that although riding in the rain is quite exhilarating, it’s also pretty chilly once you’re soaked to the skin; I discovered that my shower mac is most certainly just that; I discovered that my cycling shoes are not waterproof – or at least enough to cope with that kind of downpour; I discovered that my handlebar bag is not waterproof, despite a liberal spray of fabsil a few days before; and I discovered (for the umpteenth time) how inconvenient glasses are in the rain. Maybe all this cycling will get me wearing contacts again.

Well that was Sunday. I should have gone out again today, really. But I didn’t.

I have booked my bike in for a professional service next week. When I told the guy in the shop (Cycledealia in Hitchin) that I was riding London to Paris on an 18-year-old mountain bike (a “cheap bike”, he called it) he said I was a braver man than he was. He also warned me not to be too surprised if it needed some work doing to it. I’ll just have to wait and see.

What do *you* think?

