One wrong turn.

I never plan my routes in too much detail. Here’s the sort of thing I had in mind when I set out tonight:

But a single wrong turn in Weston set me off in a wildly different direction, and this is what I actually ended up doing:


And what a delightful ride it was. My best and favourite so far. The weather was beautiful, my mood was just right, I felt (mostly) full of energy and I generally managed to power up a lot of hills that I usually would have crawled up. One thing that I think made a big difference was that for the first time I rode with music. I’d listened to Muse’s Black Holes and Revelations earlier in the day and thought what a great backing track that would be for a ride. I’ve not used music before because I’d always thought it not the safest way to ride, but I’d read an article in a copy of a cycling magazine about how beneficial music can be, so thought I’d give it a go. And I’m convinced it made a difference. When Muse had finished I went for a complete contrast and listened to the Moulin Rouge soundtrack. And learned that singing along to the big musical numbers is a great way to get a mouthful of greenfly.

Distance: 26.54 miles
Riding time: 1 hr 52 min
Average speed: 14.2 mph
Top speed: 28.1 mph

What do *you* think?

