Out the long way. Back the short way.

I was popping over to spend some time with friends in Letchworth yesterday, so I decided to take the opportunity to build in a training ride. It couldn’t be a really big one, because there was a barbecue lined up at the end of it that I didn’t want to miss, but I went a long way round as you can see.


For the first time since I started doing these rides, I found this one pretty hard work. Not sure if it was the wind, the route, or the thought of missing the barbecue, but I just didn’t really get into it. Which was a shame, because I went through some lovely villages and I’m sure I’d have appreciated the scenery more if I’d been a better mood.

Distance: 16.4 miles
Riding time: 1 hr 15 mins
Average speed: 13.12mph
Top Speed: 31.5mph

For the return journey I took the direct route. I didn’t set out until half past eleven, and some of this route was on unlit roads, so I was very glad I’d picked up some decent lights a while back. And this ride I enjoyed much more.


Distance: 5.75 miles
Riding time: 24 mins
Average speed:14.5mph
Top Speed: 23.9mph

I really am going to have to start building up some distance soon. Doing less than twenty miles each time is all very well, but it’s only ten weeks or so before I set of to Paris with a 75 mile ride from London to Dover…

Don’t forget to sponsor me!

What do *you* think?

