Choosing a new career

If I’m going to take this decision to NOT transfer to Peterborough but to find something new, there are a few things I need to be prepared for. Because what I can’t deny is that in the Civil Service I have had a privileged existence. Some of my colleagues might be surprised to hear me say this, but think about it: over 35 days annual leave a year on top of bank holidays. Flexi time that allows us to work up extra time to take even more days off if we want – up to a further 24 days a year. And no real restriction on when we can take the leave, which can usually be booked at short notice. And I get up to 18 days special leave (paid!) for my court sittings as a Magistrate. And it was easy to change my working hours to go part time when family circumstances changed.

Let’s face it – I ain’t gonna find all that out in the real world. 20 days leave; maybe 25 if I’m lucky. Which will almost certainly need to be booked in advance. A possible battle to get time off for court sittings, as faced by some of my fellow magistrates. Now some might say that we put up with poor pay to get those perks, but in fact on initial looking around, I’d say the chances are pretty darn slim that I’d be able to match my salary.

I was chatting to a friend at church on Sunday who came up with some helpful thoughts. About making lists of anyone, in any circle, who might be able to help me identify options and find employment. About ways to focus my mind on ideas for new careers. He came up with this handy venn diagram:

 
Needless to say, the ideal job sits nicely in the middle of this. Can I find anything that ?

Incidentally, I started my Saturday job this weekend. I may write more later about how it went, but – in the meantime – I wonder where it falls in this diagram?

7 thoughts on “Choosing a new career

  1. Wendy Farrier

    Another thing to bear in mind is that although you appear to be low paid throughout your employment with the Civil Service, when the time comes to retire your standard of living does not change very much and you haven’t had to invest vast sums of money in a pension fund.

    Reply
    1. Trevor Post author

      Thanks, Zoe. No plans to move just yet, although can’t deny we’ve been looking locally for something with a bigger garden. All on hold now of course, until we know what I’ll be doing for a living.

      Reply
  2. Elizabeth

    All workers have, as of 1 April 2009, the right to a minimum of 5.6 weeks paid holiday ie 28 days if working a 5 day week. The increase from 4 weeks to 4.8 weeks in October and now to 5.6 is as a result of union campaigning. But of course the outside world probably wouldn’t let you carry leave over or anticipate a future year’s worth.

    Reply

What do *you* think?

