So now we know.

That’s it then. The proposals for the transformation of Land Registry were revealed way back in October. (My summary is here.) The public consultation finished at the end of January. And this afternoon we were told the final decisions. Time only for a summary just now:

  • Stevenage, Tunbridge Wells and Portsmouth offices still to close. SV and TW end of June 2011; PM end Feb 2011.
    .
  • Peterborough and Croydon offices will now remain open. Head Office to move out of Central London into the Croydon office (so that’s at least one rumour confirmed). Staff in those offices to be offered voluntary redundancy (therefore very different terms to those in closing offices).
    .
  • Staff leaving closing offices before end of March 2011 will qualify under the current Civil Service Redundancy Scheme. Those who will actually benefit from the new scheme can access that simply be staying beyond March 2011. (Note: union rep did point out that this was the one thing that could be affected by a new government.)
    .
  • Staff in closing offices to receive personalised quotations of redundancy packages within ten days, together with a support pack detailing all the options. (Some grumbling at our meeting that the support packs weren’t available today.)
    .
  • All these changes mean that the options for relocation/redeployment will be different that previously thought. I’ve not quite understood the details yet. More to follow once I’ve done some reading.
    .
  • Plymouth office to consolidate into single office at its Seaton Court building.
    .
  • RA/RO grades to be reduced by only 150 (was 475).
    .
  • No further office closures in “phase 2”; reduction now to be achieved using voluntary redundancies.
    .
  • Remaining excess office space to be sub-let.
    .
  • Deputy Chief Executive now going to leave end of this month. Post to be (temporarily) filled by John Peaden, currently Area Manager at Stevenage. (Interesting reaction at Stevenage to that part!)
    .
  • No mention of other changes at Board level. Guess we’ll just have to wait for that.

It’s funny not to be in work this afternoon to hear all the immediate aftermath, but I’ll be in tomorrow and will probably hear a few bits and pieces via the magic of twitter and facebook during the evening. If I’ve missed anything, feel free to add it to the comments on here.

And tell me: what do you think? And how will it affect you?

UPDATE: Official press release here.

9 thoughts on “So now we know.

  1. Jill

    I am glad for a bit more certainty, but then there is a little shadow of doubt if a Tory government get in. Vote Labour people!!! Don’t you all remember the Thatcher years? Glad for a lot of people that there is chance for them to transfer, just hope they can tie up the loose ends very quickly. We need closure on this as soon as possible (pardon the pun), the stress this has put people under is just awful. I know now how my Dad was feeling when Kodak closed the early 80’s. Thanks for these updates Trevor, great blog!

    Reply
  2. Richard

    Very happy that Croydon and our close neighbours Peterborough survived but very disappointed at the office closures at Stevenage, Portsmouth and Tunbridge Wells.

    We (Leicester) were worried that other offices were going to get dragged into the closures as a result of Phase 2 being brought forward – very relieved that Phase 2 has been scrapped for the foreseeable future.

    Reply
    1. Trevor Post author

      Harsh! Well, I’m sure I’ve made it clear that I’m part time, and I don’t work on Tuesdays or Wednesdays. And that I went in especially for the announcement today. I composed this post when I got home. Ooh, let me think… Maybe 15 minutes tops? Hardly takes out much of the day. ;o)

      Reply
  3. Unhappy

    I’m one of the survivors at Peterborough and although I’m happy for the people that want to stay, I for one had planned out a whole new life without the land registry using the redundancy money. That has now been shattered and I’m devastated. It looks as though we’re maybe going to get voluntary redundancy offered to us but not under compulsory terms, so works out to less than half for me. I don’t think it’s right that they have played with peoples lives like this, if they make a life changing decision for people and announce it, they should stick to it. Not change their minds nearly 6 months later! Disgraceful.

    Reply
    1. Trevor Post author

      I feel for you, Unhappy. I think I’d have felt similar if Stevenage had been “saved”, even though I’m nowhere near having made plans for my future yet.

      Reply
  4. redundant

    Unhappy, just be grateful you have a job, because from february 2011 i won’t. After over 20 years in the registry i don’t know what to do. I am very happy for the offices staying open and the people able to transfer, this is not an option for me, so maybe you should take a step back and feel grateful you won’t be one of many facing unemployment

    Reply

What do *you* think?

