Meet the new Saturday Boy

A few weeks ago I saw this in the local paper:

I’ve been perusing the jobs pages for a while now. Really just to get ideas – potentially facing redundancy after 22 years in the same job, the world of recruitment was going to be a strange place for me to be, so I was  just keeping an eye on the market to see what sort of things were out there.  But this caught my attention.

Presentable? Well spoken? Computer literate? I think I qualify. And, look: two Saturdays a month. Could be a handy way to bring in a bit of extra money without tying up every weekend. Could be a handy way of getting a bit of experience in a different kind of work. If nothing else, it could be a handy way of getting used to applying for jobs. If I’m lucky it could be a handy way of getting a bit of interview practice.

And so I phoned. And then cobbled together a CV of sorts and popped it in. And then got called in for an interview.

And, on Friday, I’m going in for my first training session.

Quite chuffed really: first job interview since 1988.

One thought on “Meet the new Saturday Boy

  1. T

    that’s great!! I am also looking for jobs, not been 22 years since I needed to find a job, but it’s been a long while since having to officially apply for a job and it’s pretty scary!!
    Anyway, hope the training goes well!

    Reply

What do *you* think?

