Don’t believe a word you read here.

I was sitting at my desk this morning when the phone rang. It was one of our top Land Registry union guys. Someone had read something on here and been in touch with him to find out if it was true. Not something he was in a position to confirm or otherwise. He just wanted to touch base to remind me to be careful what I publish. And fair enough. I should indeed be careful, and that’s why I am.


Photo by smileham on Flickr

So, in case I hadn’t made it clear enough: stuff I put on here is no more that what people are speaking about and discussing openly around the office. I’m just an RE2(L) (that’s civil service EO grade for those outside of Land Registry) in a local office proposed for closure and I have no more access to any information than anyone else working for Land Registry in that capacity. And if I did, I wouldn’t be putting it on here.

In fact, I’m saying rather less than you’ll hear if you simply wander around in the office. For example I haven’t named the directors who are rumoured to have resigned, although their names are openly discussed in the office.

So please don’t read any more into what you read here than that. And please don’t pester the union for more info. I presume there are things that they do know that they can’t tell us: don’t put them in the awkward position of having to refuse to comment. And that’s all I have to say about that.


Photo by just.Luc on Flickr

But while I’m here, it’s about time I said a big welcome to all the new readers who’ve appeared while I’ve been talking about all this stuff. Thanks for popping by.

What do *you* think?

