Relinquish prejudice, forsake opinion, abandon preference and others.

I read this online recently, and liked it. Not sure whether it applies to me particularly (except, of course, in the sense that it applies to everyone) but I liked it enough to save it somewhere and have just come across it again and decided to bung in on here.  

If your prejudice separates you from your brother,
relinquish it.

If your opinion separates you from your brother,
forsake it.

If your preference separates you from your brother,
abandon it.

If your theology separates you from your brother,
reject it.

If your religion separates you from your brother,
renounce it.

If your religious institution separates you from your brother,
leave it.

If your god separates you from your brother,
deny it.

(Unfortunately I can’t remember where I read it. Almost certainly on someone else’s blog, and even then I don’t know if it was their own words or a quotation from elsewhere. If it’s yours, do let me know and I’ll link back to where I found it.)

2 thoughts on “Relinquish prejudice, forsake opinion, abandon preference and others.

  1. Bob Almond

    Sounds as if it ought to be good. But it isn’t possible, and I’m not sure that it is desirable. I would end up having no opinions, no beliefs, no character of my own. I would be simply a mirror, reflecting more or less imperfectly the nature of whichever ‘other’ was before me.

    Put it in practical language – imagine the person who applied these words as a friend. Always refusing to disagree with you. Abandoning their own viewpoint as soon as it became apparent that it offended you. How would that make you feel?

    Fine words, but ultimately not, I fear, real.

    But that’s just my opinion; I wonder if you dare disagree?

    Reply
    1. Trevor Post author

      I can see your point, Bob, but I’m not sure I agree. Merely having a different opinion from your brother, and expressing it, doesn’t necessarily equate to creating separation. Just makes for more interesting discussion.

      And of course in an ideal world if you really did reach a separation, both parties would recognise the need to relinquish, forsake or whatever, and meet somewhere in the middle. Sadly, this isn’t likely to happen.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

      Reply

What do *you* think?

