Twitter RSS feed question.

You’ve probably not noticed, but there’s now a bit on the side of this page showing my most recent twitter updates.  I had one before that used an RSS feed, but wordpress has now released a bespoke twitter widget so I’m trying it out.

One problem with both versions: I’d much rather have only my actual updates showing and not any @replies, but they show up either way. The wordpress widget doesn’t have a way of stripping them out, or at least not yet (I’ve asked), but I’m guessing it must be possible to find a feed of just my actual updates. I do after all have my twitter updates automatically posted as my facebook status, and that doesn’t include @replies. I’m hoping there might be a way of accessing that feed from twitter to facebook and using it to create a widget, but I wouldn’t know where to start.

Any suggestions gratefully received!

Apologies to any readers who have absolutely no idea what on earth I’m talking about here. I don’t have much idea either, to be honest.

Update: Following a suggestion from Matthew, I took the wordpress widget out and replaced it with an RSS feed taken from facebook rather than twitter. This sort of worked, but then the entries linked back to facebook, and I’d prefer them to link to twitter. So I  followed his other suggestion and dipped my toes into the world of Yahoo Pipes. Good grief – I really had no idea what I was doing, but thankfully found someone else had done exactly what I wanted, so I just copied them. It’s still not perfect, but it’ll do for now.

I still don’t know what I’m talking about, mind.

2 thoughts on “Twitter RSS feed question.

  1. Trevor Post author

    …and after all that I’ve now decided to stick with WordPress’s own twitter widget and let any @replies show up after all. (Though if they update the widget to allow us to weed them out I will.)

    Reply
  2. Trevor Post author

    And *now* I’ve just discovered that they’ve updated the widget so it has an option to “hide replies”. Now idea when they did it, but I’ve ticked that box.

    Reply

What do *you* think?

