Books revisited

Way back in May last year, when this blog was only just starting, I posted a list of the pile of part-read and unread books by my bedside. Nearly a year and a half later, most of the books are still there. Let’s revisit that list:

The Cloudspotter’s Guide, by Gavin Pretor-Pinney
A Christmas present from  a brother. Was about a third of the way through, and generally enjoying it though it wasn’t exactly gripping so my enthusiasm had waned. Still haven’t touched it (except when moving the pile for hoovering!) so I think it’s time to admit I’m not likely to and shelve this one.

How to Talk to Anyone, by Leil Lowndes
A very American self-help book for self confessed shy people. Cheesy, yes. But I have made use of several of her tips when in social situations (which I can find hard work at times. Yes, I’m shy at heart although very few people believe me when I try to tell them that). I had read this before and it was by my bed on a second outing. I may still dip into it from time to time.

The Case for Faith, by Lee Strobel
Recommended to my wife  by a friend, and I made a start on it once she’d finished. I’d really like to have another go at this one.

Roadcraft: the Police Driver’s Manual
Read it before. Was re-reading. Will stop now. (But I do thoroughly recommend it!)

Is God to Blame?, by Gregory Boyd
Lent to me by a friend after I first very publicly admitted I don’t understand why we pray. (Stood up and asked the question “so why do we pray?” in the middle of a sermon!)  I simply never got round to reading it and gave it back eventually.

The Baby Whisperer Solves all your Problems, by Tracy Hogg
Christmas present from Rachael’s Mum. Rachael read it all. I read bits.

The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail, by Baigent, Lee and Lincoln
Bought in a charity shop after I’d enjoyed the Da Vinci Code. Still haven’t opened it.

From Birth to Five from the NHS.
Freeby dished out at the hospital when you have a baby. Never did read it all, but I guess it might be worth another look now Ainsworth is nearly 20 months old!

And needless to say there are umpteen other books I have read in the meantime. The God Delusion, of course, and I’ve made a start on The Dawkins Delusion (OK to keep hold of it a bit longer, Andy?). Most recent read was Ben Elton’s latest, Blind Faith, which was a great read.

And just this weekend I’ve picked up copies of Mark Haddon’s A Spot of Bother and The Shack, which my minister Dave has recommended. I’ll have to read  that first as it’s a library book and there’s a waiting list so I won’t be able to renew it.

Er, Bible, anyone?

What do *you* think?

